Week II Activity- Spray Paint

First things first, spray painting is SO much harder than I thought it would be… I knew from the get-go that my finished product wouldn’t be the greatest piece of art in terms of aesthetic appeal and neatness, as drawing has never really been my forte (I did have an eye for painting for a while in high school, though, but spray painting is arguable much different from brush painting). Nevertheless, I thought, “Maybe I can produce something very creative that captures my audience’s attention in a different way!”

I started off by doodling in my notebooks when I was bored during some lectures. Drawing some bubble letters in my notes didn’t seem so difficult.

Then it was time for the large-scaled drawing. I picked up some lining paper at Home Depot with the spray paint and sketched out the same bubbly letters with a pencil. It was already turning out a lot worse than I had imagined, which was pretty unfortunate, but I thought maybe it’d look a lot better with the paint on.

IMG_0844

So my friend and I took the project outside at around 6:30 on Sunday¬†evening to cover it with some spray paint. I was had gotten navy blue and lime green spray paint because that has always been one of my favorite color combinations. I didn’t realize until I started painting that those were coincidentally the Seahawks colors, which was rather unfortunate…

I filled in all the letters with lime green first, then outlined them in the navy. Within seconds I knew this project was going to be a disaster! It was hard to find a good distance to hold the can away from the paper so that it would neither be too fuzzy nor too watery. I ended up having to refill some green parts, since the blue had smudged so much, then outlining the blue again because the green spread a lot. The final result was not as bad as I thought it was going to be, and I had a lot more fun than I expected to.

Although still very wet, it didn’t drip as much as I thought it would. The paper was very thin and non-absorbent, so my hopes weren’t high, but I was impressed that there were very few technical errors. I’ve concluded that although I have very little artistic talent, I’m going to have a lot of fun this semester with the activities in this class, and I can’t wait for the next week!

Leave a Reply

